Living With Art

We humans usually add to our spaces.  We decorate, paint, adorn, fix up, embellish and generally manipulate our environment to make it more fun to look at and live in.  (I think a few birds and the occasional puppy do the same.)    So, what’s the deal with that?  Why do we do it?  It goes waaaay back  to painting in caves and wearing feathers in our hair.  We humans live with art.

studio-before

my cave before – just a big empty space in need of art

studio-after

after – aaahhhhh, that’s better

I know I certainly do.  I make art, so you know it’s always cluttering up the place in various stages of development… but I gather it everywhere I go, too.  Then I decorate my studio with it.  It makes me happy.

Here's a glimpse at just one of my "living spaces" - all crowded with art.  Some pottery from a local potter, a bronze gryphon I found in a pub in Ireland, etchings from Prague, a polymer masterpiece from Kathleen Dustin, and a piece of carved wood from some antique somewhere... I don't even know where that one came from!

Here’s a glimpse at just one of my “living spaces” – all crowded with art. Some pottery, including a carved porcelain by Jennifer McCurdy, a bronze gryphon I found in a pub in Ireland, etchings from Prague, a polymer masterpiece from Kathleen Dustin, and a piece of carved wood from some antique somewhere… I don’t even know where that one came from!

So how do you live with your art?  I asked the minions (those friends and family members without whom I could not function)… “hey Minions,” I asked, “how do you live with your art?”

My son, Ray (Minion-of-Books) is a cartoonists, so his world is mostly action figures and Tardises (Tardi?) and comic art.  His living space is very geek-friendly.

rayArtshelf

TinTin, Asterix, Uncle Scrooge and Shere Khan are living it up amongst original art by Roger Langridge, Sergio Aragones and James Turner.

Daughter Alexis (Minion-of-eBlathers) is a geek too, so most of the art she lives with is fan-friendly posters and pop culture fun stuff.  It’s easy for many of us to overlook the quality of the art that goes into these pieces, since they often have a large commercial angle – movie posters, collectables and merchandise – but I’ve looked all around the walls of her lair, and I have to say, I’m impressed.  It’s absolutely art and it makes a wonderful living space.

lexiWall

This is what a wall prefers – a full covering of luscious color and imagery! Like”Magical Girl Time” by mayakern and a fan art rendition of the beautiful lantern scene from Disney’s “Tangled”.

MC (Admin-Minion) is just in the beginning stages of embellishing their world after a recent move, but the load-bearing prints are up, with more to follow soon.

mcWall

Plenty of space for more, but in the meantime, the living space has been claimed by art! Posters by Laura Ellyn, Dakota Bardy and August Antoinette.

4 out of 5 doctors agree, living with art is good for your heart!

cfCollection

heart art on my studio wall – several yummy yummy metal hearts from fab artist Christi Anderson, a porcelain one by Joan Miller and a polymer&metal one by Mami Kelly. Oh, and several carved rock hearts too. Rocks are lovely.

So how do you live with art?  Are your interesting things in a box in the closet or in a drawer out of sight? (I still have some art stored away, but it’s my goal to get all the art out and on view before the year is over. I’ll keep ya posted!)

Live artfully!

About christifriesen

I am an artist because I must be. My mind wanders and my fingers follow. Just feed me a little more chocolate and I'll be fine.
This entry was posted in living with art, Studio Time and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Living With Art

  1. Merry says:

    I have pottery, polymer clay and weavings all over my house and not just what I make. I find that I buy baskets, pottery and other jewelry as well. And it all decorates my house, my front porch, my back yard and continues to grow.

    Like

  2. Sounds lovely!!! It’s so nice when you can look all around and see something beautiful.

    Like

  3. Debbie McCoy says:

    I have a burning desire to rush to my studio to create whatever comes to my head. It’s like I can’t do anything until I get the project out and constructed. I’ve stayed up for days doing this.

    Like

do you have any thoughts on this? blab about them with us!

