Grab some

clayGrab

Grab some polymer clay.  Go ahead, just grab some.  Don’t ya just love the feel of it when you roll it or fold it or smoosh it?

It is a delightfully smooshable medium, actually.  You can smoosh some colors together into stripey layers, which make great leaves.  Smoosh some more colors around and flowers can happen.  That’s pretty nifty.
leafpress      donePainterly

Smooshy, rolly clay play also yields tentacles of various sorts.  I’m into that, too.

unexpected-tentacle     wiggles

If you make canes with polymer, try smooshing and rolling out some cane slices.  Unexpected results can occur! (sometimes they are really interesting).

smooshy

Don’t you think this smoosh really feels oceany?  Well, that’s what I was going for anyway….

So, if you already have some polymer clay, grab it and start smooshing.  If you don’t, I think you may want to give it a try (it could open some fun creative doors for you).  Not sure where to start?   Well of course, just looking at interesting polymer art is a great way to get inspired –  there are some great blogs (Polymer Clay Daily for example) and of course Pinterest boards (like I Made This From Polymer Clay and Polymer Objets d’Art and “Polymer Clay Tips & Inspiration”). There are lots of good books and tutorials on polymer out there – I have some, of course (I suggest my Polymer Clay and Mixed Media book and my Polymer Clay Tips & Tricks board as good starting places).

Grab some!!!

About christifriesen

I am an artist because I must be. My mind wanders and my fingers follow. Just feed me a little more chocolate and I'll be fine.
This entry was posted in creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grab some

  1. Donna says:

    You are so creative in talented- in so many ways. Thanks for the inspirations.

    Like

  2. mary says:

    I love the ocean one with the jellie up top. sweet. loving your blog too Christi.

    Like

do you have any thoughts on this? blab about them with us!

