Oh, the dragons I’ve known!

  dragonWater       steampunkDragon        gargoyle3hatchling    pragueDragon   dragonsCover

Dragons and I have a long history.  I see them everywhere I go.  The first book I wrote was “Dragons” (and how to make one in polymer clay, of course).  Over the years, in my studio I’ve created dragons – dragons hatching, flying, swimming, covered in flowers, sparkling with crystals, holding emeralds, in full steampunk gear, and on and on. You’d think I’d get tired of them by now.  Nope.  Not sure why.  Well, that’s not really true.  Of course I know why – they’re fun to make with long tails and wings and faces that can be soooo many expressions.  And I like the idea of dragons – they don’t exist, but they DO (have you googled “dragons” lately? how can something that doesn’t exist be EVERYwhere?).  Dragons can be loyal guardians or patient protectors or fierce, hobbit-eating monsters.  Or they can just be little bits of polymer with garnet eyes and curly tails.  I’m fine with that.

 

 

About christifriesen

I am an artist because I must be. My mind wanders and my fingers follow. Just feed me a little more chocolate and I'll be fine.
This entry was posted in CF books, dragons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh, the dragons I’ve known!

  1. Janell says:

    And I share my home with about 10 of those dragons you have brought into being… (and many many more non-dragon beings, too). I’m really happy to see this post, I never get tired of all things Christi!!! Bloggeroo away!! I love ya, baby!! Hehehe

    Like

  2. I know your home is a reeeeeeally dragon-friendly environment, Janell! I’m glad to have helped with that!

    Like

  3. Anastasia says:

    Your amazing Dragon book was the first one ever book about polymer clay that I bought! I believe that it was magic, because after a while dragons started to appear everywhere in my house! Have they been attracted to the book? I think yes! Thank you for writing this wonderful book that made me feel like a pro at polymer clay when I managed to create my first dragon 🙂

    Like

  4. christi says:

    You are so welcome Anastasia! I love that I helped you feel comfortable with polymer and yes, i do think the book attracts dragons! hee hee

    Like

  5. Chris Crossland says:

    Christi Girl, ya KNOW I love me some dragons! And I love me some Christi-blog even more. I am excited that you are exploring this new way to share with your devoted….well, devotees! I being one of the premier members of that club am always eager to hear what you are up to.

    Like

  6. Awww, thanks Chris! I love my devoted devotees! and i’m delighted to have a chance to share in a “musings” sort of way with you all! Looking forward to seeing you again soon at Bead Browsery!

    Like

do you have any thoughts on this? blab about them with us!

